Although a unitary state, Spain is known worldwide as a highly decentralized country with a unique structure often compared to that of a federation. Following the constitution of 1978, the Spanish territory has been divided into 17 autonomous communities:

Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias (Principality of Asturias), Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castile-La Mancha, Castile and Leon, Catalonia, Community of Madrid, Extremadura, Galicia, La Rioja, Region of Murcia, Navarre, and Valencia (Valencian Community).

Moreover, Spain holds 2 autonomous cities situated in Africa – Ceuta and Melilla.

Each region in this lovely, welcoming country has its own distinct charm, appearance, culture, and sometimes language, which makes the Spanish Kingdom one of the most diverse and sought-after destination in Europe. From the picturesque whitewashed villages, outstanding Moorish remains, and attractive beaches of Andalusia to the stunning natural beauty, exquisite cuisine, and strong cultural identity of the Basque Country, Spain boasts an incredibly broad range of destinations, one for each type of traveler.

You can ski in the Pyrenees and Sierra Nevada, sunbathe on its fabulous coasts, party in the Balearic Islands, go wine tasting in La Rioja, venture in the Canary Islands’ fabulous National Parks, experience city life at its best in Madrid, learn about flamenco in Seville, or soak-up the Mediterranean vibe and the eye-catching architecture of Barcelona. Whatever you’re looking for, there will always be a destination somewhere in Spain to meet your requirements, please your senses, and capture your heart.

Top Destinations in Spain


City of Gaudi



Royal Spanish Capital



City of Flowers and Light



Luxury and Old-World Charm



City of Flamenco and Bullfighting



Spain's Most Stylish Island